Jump to Navigation

Omaha Public Library

Founded in 1871, the Omaha Public Library is a department of the City of Omaha and is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. Board members, who serve without compensation, are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to serve a three-year term. The Board meets monthly at various libraries within the eleven-branch Omaha Public Library system. Meetings are open to the public. Board members have oversight of the expenditure of all funds in the Omaha Public Library budget, promulgate library policy and procedures, and appoint the Library Director.