By Lorraine Boyd
The Daily Record

Several people were honored recently at a Nebraska State Bar Association Annual Meeting luncheon for their outstanding contributions to public understanding of the law and service to the legal profession, and to the NSBA.

The George H. Turner Award, which recognizes individuals for “service to the Bar and Bench through unusual efforts dedicated to furthering public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice and confidence in the legal system” was posthumously awarded to the Nebraska Court of Appeals Judge Theodore L. Carlson.

The Special Merit Award, for significant and continuing contributions to the legal profession, was given to Hon. Karen B. Flowers. She was instrumental in the creation of the Lancaster County Drug Court, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year.

The President’s Professionalism Award went to Christopher M. Ferdico, who “has exemplified the spirit of professionalism in pursuit of the learned profession, acting with the highest standards of our profession, and promoting an improved understanding of the law by both members of the profession and the public.” Major Ferdico has served multiple tours in Iraq and Kosovo.

Recently-retired Hon. Gerald E. Moran was given the Award of Appreciation. “During his years of service on the Douglas County District Court bench, he was almost universally seen by the trial bar as being one of the hardest working, best prepared, and considerate of the judges on our state’s district court bench,” the proclamation read.

Bradley A. Sipp of the Lincoln firm of Stock & Sipp was presented with the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award. The Outstanding Contribution to Women in the Law Award went to Nebraska’s two law school deans: Marianne Culhane at Creighton University and Susan Poser at the University of Lincoln.

The NSBA Diversity Awards were established in 2010 to recognize outstanding efforts made by firms, organizations or individual attorneys in promoting diversity in the legal profession in Nebraska. This year’s recipients are the firm of Fraser Stryker PC LLO in Omaha, and the Hon. Vernon Daniels, Douglas County Juvenile Court Judge.

Pictured from left: Fraser Stryker PC LLO; the Honorable Vernon Daniels, Douglas County Separate Juvenile Court; and Sherman Willis, Chair of the Minority Justice Committee’s Diversity Subcommittee. Photo provided courtesy of The Daily Record.